Skip to content
January 30, 2012 / Daniel

Psalm 98 (summary)

English: Icon of Jesus Christ

So what does God do for creation?  He renews it.  What is our response to him?  To worship the King.  To sing a new song.  As believers in Christ, we have the privilege of joining with all of creation in the praise of its Creator.   We have the privilege of kneeling in adoration of the God who created everything and restores everything back to its original created order.  God makes all things new.

That last statement ought to give us two things in life, a sense of confidence and a sense of anticipation.  If indeed God is in the business of fixing this world, then I can have confidence whatever happens.  “For he comes to judge the earth.”  My problems right now are temporary.  It doesn’t matter what life throws at me.  Jesus is the king.  If one of my family members dies, I would certainly miss them but I know the One who raises the dead.  I have hope for tomorrow.  The future is bright, because our God reigns.  I have confidence.

This also gives me a sense of anticipation.  If we know the King is coming back, we had better get ready for him.  We had better be prepared.  Our prayer must be the same as the prayer that Jesus taught his disciples to pray.  “Our Father who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name, thy kingdom come, thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.”  One day Jesus will reign over the entire cosmos, and so today I will give him rule over my life.  His kingdom must begin in my heart.  Be prepared.  Anticipate his return.    “He will judge the world with righteousness and the peoples with equity.”

Leave a Reply

