Skip to content
September 1, 2007 / Daniel

First week

So I just spent my first week back to school.  It’s been three years since I’ve had any college classes.  I’m kind of out of the loop.   Since I’m mostly taking languages courses, my classes are filled with undergrads, who are about 8 or 9 years younger than me.  I’m feeling sorta old. 

I really like the atmosphere at Wheaton.  It’s pretty cool.  Today I went to undergrad chapel because I heard a rumor that John Piper was going to be speaking.  He ended up not being there; however, the music at chapel was awesome.  They played “It Is Well with My Soul.”  There’s a pretty powerful story behind the song.  It kinda hit me emotionally.   The verses that struck me were the second and the fourth. 

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

One of the most exciting things about the semester is that Shelley is taking Greek as well.  Spouses of students can take a free audit so she decided to take Greek at a later hour.  She’s way better at language than me so I’m going to need her help at some point during the semester.  Plus, it’s been fun to try and read it together. 

Pray for me as I try to balance life.  Things are going to be busy. 

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Barry A. Smith / Sep 7 2007 11:36 pm

    Welcome to Wheaton brother. I was transplanted here 6 years ago from Michigan to work at Tyndale House. Tyndale has a lot of Wheaton Alumn here, not including myself.

    I like your blog. Hope your studies go well. I wish I could have made it to see Piper. Thanks for the notes.

Leave a Reply

