Skip to content
August 3, 2007 / Daniel

Switchfoot covers Bad Religion

Check this out.  My brother-in-law Matt pointed this out to me the other day. Switchfoot has decided to cover the Bad Religion song “Sorrow” in some of their most recent concerts.  I can still remember the first time I heard the Bad Religion version while I was driving through Denver.  It made a big impression on me.  It seemed to me to be a folk spiritual gone awry.

Brett Gurewitz, the atheistic writer of the song, said that the song is based on the book of Job.  He views the story of Job as an indication of how the Christian God is evil for bringing suffering into Job’s life.

What do you think of it?  And Switchfoot’s decision to cover it?

Leave a Reply

