Skip to content
July 18, 2007 / Daniel

Proverbs on Youth Ministry

So this Sunday is my last opportunity to preach at Chadron Berean.  I’ve decided to speak on the book of Proverbs and youth ministry.  Over the course of the summer, I’ve been reading through Proverbs and mulling over what it has say about parenting.  During this time, it hit me that a lot of what Proverbs says about parents applies also to others who work with young people (i.e. youth pastors and teachers). 

Proverbs is all about training and mentoring youth people.  Solomon gave these sayings to his son in hopes that he learn to fear God and become wise.  As a new parent, that’s what I want for my daughter.   

Here’s my working big idea for my sermon –A good youth ministry will train students to be wise in the midst of a foolish world. 

Some key points

  • You don’t have brains to be wise.
  • Just because everybody else is stupid doesn’t mean you have to be.
  • Discipline is just a big word for making disciples. 

I have several different passages in the book that I’m going to use to illustrate this.  Pray for me as my week is really busy as I get ready for Kupo and Jenna’s wedding Saturday.   

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Bryan L / Jul 28 2007 1:42 pm

    You know that’s funny, because when I decided to step down as youth pastor (after about 3 years and 5 years in that youth ministry) and it came time for my last sermon I preached on Proverbs too. Actually I kind of preached on Proverbs. I actually used it as a setup to leave them with some general wisdom and advice that I wanted to tell them to hopefully help them as Christians while going through their teenage years.
    Blessings,
    Bryan L

  2. Daniel / Jul 28 2007 6:35 pm

    Bryan,

    Where were you a youth pastor? What are you doing now?

  3. Daniel / Jul 28 2007 6:36 pm

    BTW, I’ve wanted to leave comments on blog before, but you’ve limited it to team members. Why’s that?

Leave a Reply

