Skip to content
April 10, 2007 / Daniel

The Resurrection of the Son of God

I’m a book addict.  I can’t stop buying them.  And since it’s Easter time, I bought Wright’s The Resurrection of the Son of God.

 It’s really a good book so I thought I would blog out some summaries of it.

 In the beginning, Wright asks the question of whether you can actually study historically the resurrection.  A lot of people seem to think that you can’t seriously study from the history whether or not the resurrection actually happens.  This objection comes from both believers and unbelievers.  Unbelievers (i.e. the Jesus Seminar) take David Hume’s position and rule the miracles out a priori since it doesn’t fit into their Enlightenment worldview.  Some Christians also argue that you can’t study the resurrection historically because the resurrection is a matter of faith and so you need to take it by faith. 

Then Wright goes about answering these objections one by one.

 In the next chapter, Wright begins to examine what the first century pagan world had to say about life after death and the resurrection.  He looks at Homer and Plato primarily.  The pagans sometimes believed in life after death but they completely rejected the concept of bodily resurrection.  They thought that was rather silly.   

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Matthew C / Apr 10 2007 2:54 pm

    That is a book I would very much like to read. It does not seem to be in the university library. I took out ‘Jesus and the Victory of God’ today. Hopefully, that will be an intereseting read.

  2. Daniel / Apr 10 2007 10:11 pm

    I need to read Jesus and the Victory of God. I have read his book The Challenge of Jesus. I think that it deals with some of the same stuff only on more of a popular level

  3. Matthew C / Apr 11 2007 7:27 am

    Yeah, they had ‘The Challenge of Jesus.’ But I thought I would try to look smart and tackle the big book.

Leave a Reply

