Skip to content
April 4, 2007 / Daniel

Brian, what are you thinking?

So the other day my wife and I went to Rapid City, SD and we stopped in a Borders there.  BTW, I really like Borders.  But what deeply troubled me was seeing an endorsement on this book.  John Crossan and Marcus Borg are two of the leading anti-Jesus scholars; so what in the world is an “evangelical” like Brian McClarin doing endorsing that book? 

Now I haven’t read the book, but it concerns me because I have pretty good idea what Crossan and Borg are going to say.   I don’t think that it’s a good idea for folks like McClarin to be endorsing books written by the Jesus Seminar guys.  It makes me wonder about the “generous orthodoxy” of McClarin.  You can’t be orthodox without the physical resurrection of Jesus.  Remember, “Bad company corrupts good morals.”

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. john zebedee / Apr 5 2007 2:57 am

    anti-jesus is a ridiculous term to apply to crossan/borg. what…they don’t share your same beliefs on doctrine?

    no, you haven’t read the book. go figure.

    jesusisnowhere.com

  2. Daniel / Apr 5 2007 4:39 pm

    John,

    Have you read any books by the Jesus Seminar?

    Although I haven’t this book by Borg and Crossan, I have read other books by these men and I know where they’re coming from.

    I happen to believe very strongly that the physical resurrection of Christ is the very cornerstone of the Christian faith. Without the resurrection, Christianity isn’t Christianity.

    Do you believe in the physical resurrection?

Leave a Reply

