Skip to content
September 13, 2006 / Daniel

The Compelling Power of Grace

The local Campus Crusade asked me to speak for them this week; so I decided to blog out what I wanted to share with them beforehand.

In Matthew 18, Jesus told his disciples a story about this king who had a servant who owed him an incredible amount of money.  And since the servant was hopeless when it came to repaying this massive debt, the king ordered his soldiers to throw the man in prison.

However, the man pleaded and begged the king for mercy and out of the goodness of his heart, the king forgave the servant the whole amount.  Absolutely free, paid in full.

But having been forgiven by the king, the servant went out and found another servant who owed him just a few dollars and demanded that this man paid him.  And even though the servant plead for mercy and said, “Just give a little more time, I pay it back,” the man sent this other servant to the debtors’ prison.

Disturbed, some other servants told the king about the actions of this man.  Furious king issued orders to seize that man and throw him to prison.  And he said to him, “You wicked servant, I canceled all that debt of yours because you begged me to.  Shouldn’t you have had mercy on your fellow servant just as I had on you?”

The more I understand God’s grace, the more I am compelled to give grace to others.  The more I understand God’s forgiveness, the more I’m obligated to forgive others.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Matthew C / Sep 14 2006 7:38 am

    I am glad you are back. I had started to worry about you, Daniel.

  2. fiester25 / Sep 14 2006 3:44 pm

    Matthew,
    thanks for checking out the new blog.

  3. Dawn / Oct 3 2006 12:42 pm

    Me, too, Daniel. Sometimes I get a little impatient with people and their ways, but God is helping to be more merciful and forgiving. Not that we should overlook sin, but how we react to it makes all the difference.

Leave a Reply

